#1 chuck_d

chuck_d

Frequent Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1022 posts
  • LocationAtlanta, GA

Posted 16 April 2014 - 06:04 PM

Is anyone on here a Certified Cicerone?  I am considering training my girlfriend for the exam.  My guess is with a week of brush up and a refresher sensory kit I could pass the test myself.  I know it's not easy, but I am a professional brewer and a giant nerd.  I've learned all this material in the past, and even wrote the study guide that Siebel passes out to students for the diploma course (160 pages).

I was hoping someone here with experience could help me out with putting together a training program.  I know it's got a high failure rate, only 1 in 3 pass, but I suspect that the main cause is insufficient preparation, not that the test is unreasonable.  Living with a professional craft brewer should certainly put my gf in an advantageous position when it comes to prep work.  And helping her pass this exam will definitely firm up my knowledge and skills, being a TA in college was perhaps my most valuable experience.

I have been doing some research and put together a training program that looks something like the following.

Essential texts: Tasting Beer, How to Brew, Draft Beer Quality Manual, Brewmaster's Table, BJCP Style Guidelines

Supplemental texts: I'm going to highlight relevant questions in the MBAA Practical Handbooks.  That's mostly for brewing, but the answers are so approachable that it makes it so valuable where the subject matter overlaps.  Oxford Companion for digging a little deeper in topics that are glossed over in the other texts.  Then a few of the style books that are out there for fun, Wild Brews, etc.

Practical Training will be broken up into 3 parts:

1. Brewing - She's hungout while I brewed on the Orpheus pilot system, but I'll have her come hang with me a few times while brewing on the big system.  Talk over the process and what flavors are coming from where.