#1 johnpreuss

johnpreuss

Frequent Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1460 posts
  • LocationWay Up North Minnesota

Posted 19 April 2014 - 07:04 PM

Wow, I must say we have taken quite the Lager swing on the board lately and there is definately some room here for some discussion, especially on this "new" style.  I've been doing some reading about Imperial Pale Lagers and many commercial brewers are saying it's a similar grain bill to an IPA but they are shooting for around 45 IBU with the same late additions as an IPA.  I don't know that I'm looking to build a recipe here but maybe this could be the next group brew.  Hmm...

I'm almost thinking that ideally you'd shoot for something like this:

90 % 2 Row / American Pilsner Malt

5 % Vienna/Munich

3 % Light Crystal >40L

2 % Dextrine Malt

Bitter with 25 IBU of a clean hop

20 IBU late additions

Whirlpool/dry hop the hell out of it

OG: 1.055-65

IBU: 45

Yeast choices?!?  I'm not an expert here, 2124/830/W34/70 or would you go American or Mexican Lager Yeasts?

Let's talk about this! 

GO!!

#2 neddles

neddles

No Life

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 16518 posts

Posted 19 April 2014 - 07:36 PM

Way to get it started. I'll touch this one. You may have read this already John but I'll link it for everyone else to see. https://beerandwinej...dia-pale-lager/

He has some interesting tidbits regarding yeast choice.

[color=rgb(51,51,51);font-family:'Droid Sans', sans-serif;font-size:13px;]Look for strains that are commonly used in more hop-focused lager styles, such as German Pilsner or classic American Pilsner. You may also want to increase the amount of bittering hops you use. And finally, be sure not to pitch too much yeast. Use a pitching rate calculator and perhaps even slightly underpitch (adding, say, three-fourths the optimal cell count).[/color]