#1 Steve Urquell

Steve Urquell

Hot Loader

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3874 posts
  • LocationOzarks

Posted 08 March 2015 - 03:27 PM

I haven't brewed an ale in years now. I had a St. Peter's EIPA https://www.ratebeer...pale-ale/62444/ awhile back and it really got me wanting to brew one again. It's listed as having "Suffolk malt and First Gold hops" From what I can find, Suffolk malt is Munton's. I have no experience with Munton's other than as some stale ale malt my LHBS sold me years ago. Anyways, I'm not looking for a direct clone, just the general flavor I listed as the thread title. How's this looking? 7gal batch. 1.060OG, 1.015FG, 55IBUs London ale yeast--my buddy's drauflassen harvest 13lb Avangard German Munich 7L 8oz British Caramalt (Fawcett) 8-12L 2.3ozs Amarillo 60min 1oz First Gold 10min 2oz First Gold 175F whirlpool 1.5oz First Gold Dry hop

#2 johnpreuss

johnpreuss

Frequent Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1460 posts
  • LocationWay Up North Minnesota

Posted 08 March 2015 - 03:57 PM

I don't think you're going to get there with that malt.... malty not toasty.  I'd see if you can get some Marris Otter.  I bet the hops get you there on that side.

Wow... I bet you don't remember how to ferment above 55dF!!! 

#3 Steve Urquell

Steve Urquell

Hot Loader

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3874 posts
  • LocationOzarks

Posted 08 March 2015 - 04:47 PM

I don't think you're going to get there with that malt.... malty not toasty.  I'd see if you can get some Marris Otter.  I bet the hops get you there on that side.   Wow... I bet you don't remember how to ferment above 55dF!!!

I was wondering about the toast. I figured the 6L would have a little. I haven't done an all Munich batch before though. Will yeast ferment above 55F?

#4 neddles

neddles

No Life

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 16523 posts

Posted 08 March 2015 - 07:12 PM