Poptop

Frequent Member

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 5011 posts
  • LocationCoconut Creek, FL

Posted 21 August 2015 - 07:05 AM

Hey Fellas,
I weighed out some Strisselspalt last night for a Saison and I'm not sure if it's turned or if it's what I should expect. It didn't smell cheesy or moldy. It didn't really smell bad, just different. I figured the hops might open up during the night and offer something more pleasant this morning but not really. I've never used Strissel before so I don't have any reference point.

If I had to describe it, I think mild moth ball, very mild. Any thoughts? I'm skeptical in their use.

#2 neddles

neddles

No Life

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 16523 posts

Posted 21 August 2015 - 07:11 AM

Tough one. I've never smelled bad hops before. Never had a batch that was bad, cheesy or moldy so I am not a good reference. Do you leave your weighed-out hops open and at room temp all night before you brew?

#3 Poptop

Poptop

Frequent Member

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 5011 posts

Posted 21 August 2015 - 07:20 AM

I typically do leave them out the day before or even a few days. Love the way the pantry smells when you open it up. Note; all my hops are kryo'd in the freezer.

#4 positiveContact

positiveContact

Anti-Brag Queen

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 68886 posts
  • LocationLimbo

Posted 21 August 2015 - 07:26 AM

I typically do leave them out the day before or even a few days. Love the way the pantry smells when you open it up. Note; all my hops are kryo'd in the freezer.

While this may not do anything bad it certainly isn't doing anything good for you.

#5 Poptop

Poptop

Frequent Member

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 5011 posts

Posted 21 August 2015 - 07:28 AM

I can't see any huge issue, what do you got? My routine is to measure my hops and put them into little Dixie cups then all the cups go into a tied plastic grocery bag. The smell permeates.

#6 positiveContact

positiveContact

Anti-Brag Queen

• Patron