#1 3rd party JKor

3rd party JKor

Puller of Meats

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 63979 posts
  • LocationNW of Boston

Posted 05 January 2016 - 10:02 AM

I didn't want to say session, it's betting a bad rep around here...but that's kind of what I'm looking for.  :P

I'm a big fan of the Smuttynose Old Brown Dog.  I've been drinking it for nearly 20 years and I had always assumed it was a low-ish ABV brown, in the 5-5.5% ABV ballpark.  I only just recently noticed it's 6.5%.  That blew me away.  I'd really like to take that beer and make it as a 4.5-5% beer.

I'll document my efforts here...

#2 positiveContact

positiveContact

Anti-Brag Queen

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 68886 posts
  • LocationLimbo

Posted 05 January 2016 - 10:38 AM

sounds good!

#3 HVB

HVB

No Life

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 18047 posts

Posted 05 January 2016 - 11:03 AM

I like the sound of this.  I wonder if the ABV on OBD has slowly increased over time.  I am surprised that it is 6.5%.  I would not mind a session  Lite Brown on tap

#4 Poptop

Poptop

Frequent Member

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 5011 posts
  • LocationCoconut Creek, FL

Posted 05 January 2016 - 11:06 AM

I have half pound brown malt and a bag each of English medium and dark crystal. I'm all ears....

#5 positiveContact

positiveContact

Anti-Brag Queen

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 68886 posts
  • LocationLimbo

Posted 05 January 2016 - 11:10 AM

I have half pound brown malt and a bag each of English medium and dark crystal. I'm all ears....

needs some chocolate malt too in my opinion.

#6 3rd party JKor

3rd party JKor

Puller of Meats

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 63979 posts
  • LocationNW of Boston

Posted 05 January 2016 - 11:27 AM

I like the sound of this.  I wonder if the ABV on OBD has slowly increased over time.  I am surprised that it is 6.5%.  I would not mind a session  Lite Brown on tap