41 replies to this topic

#1 Big Nake

Big Nake

Comptroller of Forum Content

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 53982 posts

Posted 12 February 2016 - 07:58 AM

I got this thing from my wife's cousin who was selling kegs, keg parts, tanks, etc. for awhile.  $45 and full when I got it.  It's been in my "on-deck" fridge being used specifically for force-carbing kegs.  I carbed a keg of Bordertown Dark Lager this week and when I took the gas-in libe off the keg I checked the gauge and the PSI side shows "30" and the LEVEL side is pretty much at empty.  I know these gauges are notoriously flaky and I have very little experienced with a CO2 tank this big.  Should I just assume it's empty and take it in for a refill?  I guess I'm waiting for one of you to say, "My 20-pounder is like that and I can carb 5 more batches after it shows empty!".  I have not sampled this latest beer that was carbed but my guess is that it fully carbed.

#2 positiveContact

positiveContact

Anti-Brag Queen

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 68886 posts
  • LocationLimbo

Posted 12 February 2016 - 07:59 AM

that means it's about done at my house.  I'd still try to use it up somewhere before getting it refilled though.

#3 Big Nake

Big Nake

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 53982 posts

Posted 12 February 2016 - 08:26 AM

I guess I'm wondering if it has enough juice to carb another batch.  If I'm doing a 2-day, 25-30 psi force-carb and at the end of that 2-day timeframe the tank is empty, I have no idea how much to carb the beer the rest of the way.  Clearly I have encountered this before and I just try to guess at how much longer it needs (12 hours or whatever).  I could take it now and pick it up Monday or just take my chances.  Maybe I'll sample this dark lager this afternoon and if it's not fully carbed, the tank is empty and needs to be refilled right now.  But the fact that the PSI gauge shows 30 tells me that it's not empty just yet.

#4 positiveContact

positiveContact