#1 jubuttib

jubuttib

Emperor of Finland, Estonia, and Detroit

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 40 posts
  • LocationFinland

Posted 11 May 2016 - 01:13 PM

Hello, I'm still new around here, let's start off with a bang.

So, I've so far made 6 batches of beer, two APAs, one IPA, one basic Weißbier and two dunkel weizen, always using my own recipies just to see what happens when a complete newb tries things out. Apart from one of them (an all wheat and munich dunkel weizen, not my cup of tea, way too grainy/bready, but some people thought it was my best beer) have been very pleasant, some even outright great for my tastebuds, with one going into top 10 beers I've ever had.

But now I want to try something silly: Trusting you guys. =)

I have at hand the following:

6.6 gallon kettle/mash tun BIAB system, good for making at most 5.3 gallons of wort into fermenter

16 pounds of pale

16 pounds of munich

11 pounds of vienna

6.4 pounds of wheat

1 pound of CaraPlus 200 (200 EBC caramel malt)

3.5 oz Tradition

2.8 oz Chinook

2.8 oz Columbus

1.8 oz Cascade

1.8 oz Spalt

2 packs of US-05 (though I can order pretty much anything if necessary)

My favorite styles are Weißbiers and most of all hoppy IPAs/IIPAs and APAs (more the aromas than outrageous bitterness).

So, dear Brews Brothers:

What do I do? =)

Edited by jubuttib, 11 May 2016 - 01:14 PM.

#2 positiveContact

positiveContact

Anti-Brag Queen

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 68886 posts
  • LocationLimbo

Posted 11 May 2016 - 01:21 PM

do you want to just use these ingredients or will you order more stuff?  if you were doing an AIPA you are a little borderline on not having enough hops appropriate for the job.

#3 cavman

cavman

Comptroller of BigPossMan

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 12937 posts
  • LocationSomerville, MA

Posted 11 May 2016 - 02:50 PM