#1 porter

porter

Comptroller of Affairs with Potatoes

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 19045 posts
  • LocationColorado Springs, CO

Posted 25 July 2016 - 05:40 PM

I did a split batch of a wheat beer last weekend. Half was done as a wit, the other one pitched with saison yeast (Belle Saison) in hopes of adding some fruit later to make something of interest. 

The wit half is tasting good 8 days later. The "saison" half, well, it is interesting. I've never used this yeast before, and haven't used any saison yeast in seven or eight years, truth told. It's certainly not as spicy and saison-y as I would have guessed, though the temperatures may be partially to blame (started fermentation at 70 F, let it slowly rise on its own to a peak of 78-79 at 3-4 days). 

The weird thing is that it's quite tart. Not sour, but tart. Obviously, could be infection, but it doesn't taste off in any other regard, and I haven't had a contaminated batch in the last dozen or so batches I've made since my brewing hiatus, which could be evidence of good sanitation, or evidence that I'm due for an infection.

Anyone ever get this from this yeast? Is it perhaps an early characteristic that subsides? I added 4 lbs. of pureed mango today, so I actually wouldn't mind if the tartness hung around at the current levels, though much more would be out of place.  

ETA: Whoops, this was meant to go in the general beer forum; please move if you get a chance.

Edited by porter, 25 July 2016 - 05:41 PM.

#2 MtnBrewer

MtnBrewer

Skynet Architect

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6695 posts
  • LocationThe Springs

Posted 25 July 2016 - 06:32 PM

I've never used that yeast but some tartness certainly is a characteristic of many saisons. I doubt it's a contamination unless there are other signs that also point to that.

#3 porter

porter

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 19045 posts

Posted 25 July 2016 - 06:54 PM