#1 humdum

humdum

Comptroller of Chili and Other Fine Bean-Free Foods

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 9038 posts
  • LocationThe Republic of Texas

Posted 19 August 2016 - 10:05 PM

Hi, I'm new here. Been a long time lurker but just worked up enough nerve to post this question. I saw a commercial for Heineken just now claiming only 3 natural ingredients. A friend told me he brews his own beer and uses water, malt, hops, and yeast. I'm a math teacher and I worked it out (twice), showed my work and circled my answer and I calculated 4 ingredients. I'll walk you through my calculation:

1 water
1 malt
1 yeast
+1 hops
________

Is this a metric conversion issue since Heineken is from Holland, which is in Europe, and they use the metric system. It's basically witchcraft if you ask me but math is math.

9A7B5105-1A9C-4CD9-8665-DC717F5EA95B_zps

#2 neddles

neddles

No Life

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 16612 posts

Posted 19 August 2016 - 10:48 PM

Hop extract

ETA: Oh, and welcome abord!

Edited by neddles, 19 August 2016 - 10:49 PM.

#3 realbeerguy

realbeerguy

Frequent Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1974 posts
  • LocationBluffton, SC

Posted 20 August 2016 - 05:28 AM

"I told you we should build a wall"

#4 humdum

humdum

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 9038 posts

Posted 20 August 2016 - 05:45 AM

Hop extract

ETA: Oh, and welcome abord!

So they're excluding the hop extract since its processed?

#5 neddles

neddles

No Life

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 16612 posts

Posted 20 August 2016 - 06:33 AM

So they're excluding the hop extract since its processed?

My best guess. 

I don't even know if heineken uses hop extract but it would surprise me if they did

Edited by neddles, 20 August 2016 - 06:34 AM.

#6 dmtaylor

dmtaylor

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 325 posts
  • LocationTwo Rivers, WI

Posted 20 August 2016 - 07:11 AM