#1 positiveContact

positiveContact

Anti-Brag Queen

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 68886 posts
  • LocationLimbo

Posted 29 August 2016 - 06:44 AM

This weekend I'll be serving some beer from corny kegs outside at a party.  I've never done this before so if anyone has tips I'm all ears.  Here are the deets:

Event will be outside.  High of 82F that day.

1) The host has a plastic bin he can fill with ice/water.  I'm guessing it will go about 2/3 of the way up the corny keg but he's getting the exact dimensions for me.

2) I have picnic taps.  probably about 4' in length.

3) I'll be bringing either my 5lb or 20lb CO2 tank to occasionally charge up the head space.  Unfortunately I'm not sure how to tell how much is left in either of them.  The 20lb is very likely good to go but that's kind of a PITA to bring but I might do it anyway.  If someone has a way to help me figure about how much I've got in my 5lb tank I am all ears!

4) The beers will probably be transported the morning of the event and then can sit for a few hours before anyone arrives.  I'd bring them sooner but there is not fridge available to keep them overnight.

So if I'm missing some obvious stuff or if there are pitfalls please let me know.  I'm used to serving out of the comfort of my own home.

#2 HVB

HVB

No Life

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 18067 posts

Posted 29 August 2016 - 06:49 AM

I would just use the 5# tanks.  I see no need for the 20# and I normally just use a 20oz paintball tanks for 2-3 kegs.  I think as long as the bottom half is in ice/water you should be good.  let them settle and you should be good to go.

#3 positiveContact

positiveContact

Anti-Brag Queen

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 68886 posts
  • LocationLimbo

Posted 29 August 2016 - 06:50 AM