Photo
- - - - -

Does anyone in here regularly brew with honey?

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Big Nake

Big Nake

Comptroller of Forum Content

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 53968 posts

Posted 15 January 2017 - 09:46 AM

When I was a newbie it seemed like there were a lot of brewers using honey... honey wheat, amber, porter, etc. and there were some commercial examples too. I remember trying it a few times either on my own or as a part of a kit and I would end up making a very hot, jet fuel-like beer. Some suggested letting the beer age. Nope. I never got what I wanted out of it. I eventually realized that honey was so fermentable that you're unlikely to get delicate honey character from the beer because it would be 100% metabolized. So if I made a 5% beer where maybe one pound of honey was added... would I get "jet fuel"? Why was I getting that character in the first place? It wasn't like I was taking a 9% beer and trying to make it 10% by adding honey or something. I mention all of this because I'm heading over to Sam's Club today and usually see large containers of honey there. :scratch:

#2 Hines

Hines

Comptroller of Emus

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 9744 posts

Posted 15 January 2017 - 10:13 AM

I hate to be that guy, but....   Buying Sam's Club honey vs buying some from a local beekeeper is a huge difference in flavor.

I've always wanted to brew with honey, but have been afraid to because of the reasons you mentioned.  One day i'll make a mead though (i've only said this for 12 years)

Edited by Hines, 15 January 2017 - 10:13 AM.

#3 djinkc

djinkc

Comptroller of Non-Defending Defenders of Inarticulate Twats

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 32138 posts
  • Locationout the backdoor

Posted 15 January 2017 - 10:39 AM

n=1 with clover honey.  I ended up dumping about the last 1/4.

#4 Big Nake

Big Nake

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 53968 posts

Posted 15 January 2017 - 10:50 AM