#1 Bklmt2000

Bklmt2000

Five Way Expert

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 10650 posts
  • LocationCincinnati, OH

Posted 11 August 2017 - 06:41 PM

Checked on my batch of hard cider I made Wednesday, and it's bubbling away nicely in a Better Bottle.

Found myself watching the yeast at work, swirling around like a snowglobe; a lava lamp for adults.

Took me back to when I was a newbie brewer and fermented all of my batches in glass carboys, watching the yeast hard at work during primary.

Still cool, all these years later.

#2 MyaCullen

MyaCullen

Cheap Blue Meanie

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 68748 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA

Posted 11 August 2017 - 06:54 PM

Checked on my batch of hard cider I made Wednesday, and it's bubbling away nicely in a Better Bottle.

Found myself watching the yeast at work, swirling around like a snowglobe; a lava lamp for adults.

Took me back to when I was a newbie brewer and fermented all of my batches in glass carboys, watching the yeast hard at work during primary.

microbiological aquarium

#3 djinkc

djinkc

Comptroller of Non-Defending Defenders of Inarticulate Twats

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 32138 posts
  • Locationout the backdoor

Posted 12 August 2017 - 12:53 PM

Yeah, this first gallon of cider is in plastic with an airlock.  Kinda fun to watch since beer in in stainless and behind a closed door here.

#4 Bklmt2000

Bklmt2000

Five Way Expert

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 10650 posts
  • LocationCincinnati, OH

Posted 12 August 2017 - 01:04 PM

Just spent a couple more minutes observing the yeast in action; it's almost hypnotic.  :D

#5 ncbeerbrewer

ncbeerbrewer

Frequent Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2210 posts
  • LocationRaleigh NC

Posted 12 August 2017 - 02:09 PM

Always been a fan of glass or plastic for this very reason. The wonders of brewing 👌🏻

#6 CarlosM

CarlosM

Señor Joykill

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 12344 posts
  • LocationChicago

Posted 12 August 2017 - 03:10 PM