7 replies to this topic

#1 eldernerd

eldernerd

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
  • LocationMooseville

Posted 04 June 2013 - 04:37 PM

06-04-2013 @ 9:00am I have a confession to make. I'm a plant based Chef, kinda like Jacques Pepin but now with my own mead instead of wine. I went into the kitchen and after saying that chocolate would complicate things. I ate a hunk of 90% chocolate and then decided it was all just some sort of  brain dead moment. After a flurry or prepping the kitchen I just started doing what I do, but this time Chocolate Coffee, honey and maple syrup. When I was done I wrotet down and here it is. Of course its a small test batch, but it smelled so good! Chocolate Cafe in Heaven   1 Gallon Batch, Scales nicely- use grams for Fermaid-k. Less will be better than too much 3 lbs local Wildflower honey 1.5 oz unsweetened Natural “Non Dutched”cocoa powder. Dutched will really raise the PH 3/4 gallon spring water 1 cup strong black coffee – Fresh Ground and Drip brewed in double cone filters 1½ cups maple syrup Vermont grade B 3 teaspoons Acid Blend – Don t add all at once – test and add 1 tsp at a time – Aim for a 3.4 PH Lalvin EC-1118 yeast re-hydrated ½ tsp Fermaid K  Not All at once, See schedule OG = 1.120  FG = 1.010   Estimated ABV 14.4% Put the water and coffee on the stove and bring to 120 deg F. Turn off the heat after it reaches 120. Put the honey and maple syrup along with the Cocoa in the pan and mix till combined well. Cover and let it cool to 85 Deg F Transfer to a clean and sanitized 2 gallon plaster fermenter Rehydrate the yeast and when the yeast and the must are at the same temp Pitch the yeast. After 6 hours add 1 gram ( ¼ tsp) of Fermaik-k (Mix with 25ml distilled water) Cover Primary and attach airlock. Stir daily for 5 Days. On day 2 add .6 grams (1/8 tsp) Fermaid-K  -  (Mix with 25ml distilled water) On day 5 add .4 grams (1/10 tsp) Fermaid-K  -  (Mix with 25ml distilled water) On Day 7 rack into a clean sanitized glass jug,