#1 johnpreuss

johnpreuss

Frequent Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1460 posts
  • LocationWay Up North Minnesota

Posted 30 October 2014 - 04:20 PM

I've been brewing for over 5 years now and in the past I lived in Apartments and townhomes and temperature control was a big deal... it was always warm where I lived and brewed.... Fast forward to now... I live in a home without a basement.  I have an insulated garage but I live in northern MN where it gets COLD!  I fermenters must live in the Garage, so what kind of things do you guys use to keep the fermenters warm where you are?  Belgian brewers you can help here too... I know the importance of higher fermentation temps for that type of beer to come out right. 

My garage is keeping around 50 right now with a base board heater going.. My last ale stalled out at 1015... I brought it inside with SWMBO permission to see if I could get a little more out of the yeast.  For now I'm going to brew a lager or two... but I will need me some IPA before the spring thaw.  Give me some ideas guys.

#2 Humperdink

Humperdink

Cose

• In Memorium
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 15798 posts

Posted 30 October 2014 - 04:24 PM

Brew belt heater or a personal space heater hooked up to some kind of controller in a chamber. Options abound. 

#3 Steve Urquell

Steve Urquell

Hot Loader

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3874 posts
  • LocationOzarks

Posted 30 October 2014 - 04:40 PM

Stc 1000 with fridge plugged in cold side, light bulb in the hot side.

#4 johnpreuss

johnpreuss

Frequent Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1460 posts
  • LocationWay Up North Minnesota

Posted 30 October 2014 - 05:06 PM

Stc 1000 with fridge plugged in cold side, light bulb in the hot side.

What size light bulb?

#5 Steve Urquell

Steve Urquell

Hot Loader

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3874 posts
  • LocationOzarks

Posted 30 October 2014 - 05:12 PM

What size light bulb?